Phonics and Reading at Nantwich Primary Academy and Nursery


In EYFS and Key Stage 1 we follow the ‘Letters and Sounds’ scheme. We also use aspects of Jolly Phonics to supplement our phonics teaching. In ‘Letters and Sounds’ the sounds are taught in phases and sets, as follows:

Phase 1
Phase 1 concentrates on developing children's speaking and listening skills and lays the foundations for the phonic work which starts in Phase 2. The emphasis during Phase 1 is to get children attuned to the sounds around them and ready to begin developing oral blending and segmenting skills. This phase is divided into seven aspects and each aspect contains three strands: Tuning in to sounds, Listening and remembering sounds and Talking about sounds.

Phase 2 onwards
Graphemes and phonemes are introduced in phase 2 and continued throughout phases 3 to 5 and are taught in sets.

Set 1: s a t p
Set 2: I n m d
Set 3: g o c k
Set 4: ck e u r
Set 5: h b f ff l ll ss
Set 6: j v w x
Set 7: y z zz qu
Set 8: ch sh th ng

ai ee igh oa o oar or u row oi air ure er

Split digraphs and alternative spellings are taught in phases 5 and 6.

Useful links to phonics games

Also, check out this useful phonics page:



At Nantwich Primary Academy and Nursery we use book bands for reading which consist of the following colour banding: pink, red, yellow, blue, green, orange, turquoise, purple, white, lime, copper, sapphire, ruby and black.

We use a mixture of reading scheme books and high quality texts that provide a progressive structure for guided reading books in EYFS, Key Stage 1 and 2.